Current

on: Sunday, Dec. 03, 2006 @: 7:20 p.m.

Remember

Ok so today would have been my Gran's birthday. Its the first one since she died. I thought i'd share with you a poem that was read at both her and my Grandad's funerals:
Remember
by Christina Rosetti


Remember me when I am gone away,
Gone far away into the silent land;
When you can no more hold me by the hand,
Nor I half turn to go yet turning stay.
Remember me when no more day by day
You tell me of our future that you plann'd:
Only remember me; you understand
It will be late to counsel then or pray.
Yet if you should forget me for a while
And afterwards remember, do not grieve:
For if the darkness and corruption leave
A vestige of the thoughts that once I had,
Better by far you should forget and smile
Than that you should remember and be sad.

Christina Rossetti

I also felt now would be a good occassion to write a letter unsent and hope that my gran wherever she may be can read it and realise just how special she was and still is.

Dear Gran,
I was just thinking how I wrote that poem for you when i was much much younger and you stuck it to the cupboard door and it was still there the last time i was at your house even after you'd died, as well the things I'd made at school, the sunflower, faded now but still hung on the wall. I have many fond memories of playing schools when us children were small, you were always called Arabella, when we stayed over the 'pillow fairy' would visit. Going down to feed the chickens with my bucket and spade and collecting the eggs, i remember how i always used to believe i was being very helpful when a chicken had escaped by waving my spade around at it. Easter egg hunts were another big event, i remember the excitement of looking anywhere and everywhere for my eggs. Also how Stuart would help us but any that said sophie hed try to steal cos it had an s at the start.
I remember apple picking each year and using your walking stick to try to reach the highest ones. Going conkering and losing your walking stick in the field. Your great cooking, flat chips, spam sandwiches, yorkshrire puddings, choc chip cakes, meringues and that chocolate oaty thing that im sure we only had once but i remember we all helped to make it. I've got your recipe book now and I intend to make full use of it. everyone agreed that the chocolate pudding simply must be made. I'm at university now gran, all grown up, having a good time but looking forward to coming home at christmas to see everyone. how strange it will be on boxing day not to see you. I miss you Gran and i Hope your proud of me. I've definately inherited your taste for cream and chocolate and butter you can see your teeth in. Well Gran I hope your happy wherever you are and are making sure grandad's behaving himself. I love you so much and always will Gran, I miss you but am comforted by the happy memories. i hope that when I am a gran my grandchildren love me as much as i love you. Take care Granny, Love you Always, From Sophie xxx

|

back ~ forward

Notes
Archives Share
This
About Me D~Land

Designed by Em